MTV Plugged (1992)

Bruce Springsteen (Plugged)

Recorded 9/22/92 at Warner Hollywood Studios, Los Angeles

Original Premiere Date: November 11, 1992

Bruce Springsteen made a rare television appearance when he performed on MTV in November of 1992 in his first-ever televised concert performance. The Springsteen performance, which was taped in Los Angeles in September of 1992 while he was there for his World Tour, features ninety minutes of no-holds-barred electric rock n' roll with Springsteen and his new touring band members. Springsteen and his band perform material spanning the early days through the latest hit albums Lucky Town and Human Touch. Song selections include "Better Days," "Human Touch," Light Of Day," "Glory Days," and "Thunder Road."

An excerpt from the MTV Unplugged book... "By the time we got the phone call, everything had been set. The taping was going to take place in Los Angeles. We were doing Bruce Springsteen Unplugged. It was a dream come true. And then the call came. His new band hadn't rehearsed enough in the acoustic format, so the show would have to be electric. We had never thought it could be possible to be lucky enough to televise a Bruce Springsteen concert and still be upset, but there we were. We started from scratch. We made the set look as un-Unplugged as possible. For lack of a better idea, we decided to call the show 'Bruce Springsteen: Plugged.' And Bruce did a promotional spot holding an acoustic guitar. 'I told MTV I was going to do Unplugged,' he said. 'Well, I lied.' And then he smashed his guitar."

Set List:
  1. Red-Headed Woman [Springsteen solo]
  2. Better Days
  3. Local Hero
  4. Lucky Town
  5. Atlantic City
  6. Darkness on the Edge of Town
  7. Book of Dreams
  8. 57 Channels (And Nothin On)
  9. Big Muddy
  10. Living Proof
  11. If I Should Fall Behind
  12. Leap of Faith
  13. Man's Job
  14. Roll of the Dice
  15. Growin' Up [Springsteen and Bittan]
  16. Human Touch
  17. Soul Driver
  18. Souls of the Departed
  19. I Wish I Were Blind
  20. Thunder Road [Springsteen and Bittan]
  21. My Beautiful Reward
  22. Light of Day
  23. Glory Days

Bruce Springsteen - guitars, vocals, harmonica

Zachary Alford - drums
Roy Bittan - keyboards
Shane Fontayne - guitar
Tommy Sims - bass
Crystal Talifero - guitar, percussion, vocals
Gia Ciambotti - vocals
Carol Dennis - vocals
Cleopatra Kennedy - vocals
Bobby King - vocals
Angel Rogers - vocals
Patti Scialfa - vocals, guitar

Director : Larry Jordan
Producers : Alex Coletti / Joel Gallen
Executive producer : Jon Landau
Live sound recording : Toby Scott
Audio remixing : Bob Clearmountain

Produced by : Bruce Springsteen and Jon Landau
Recording engineer : Toby Scott
Mix engineer : Bob Clearmountain
Mastering : Scott Hull
Remote recording truck : Design FX Remotes
Mixed at : A&M Studio 'B'
Mastered at : Masterdisk
Engineering assistant : Greg Goldman
Stage crew : Scott Peets, Brent Whalton
Technicians, design FX : Jack Crymes, Allen Baca
A&M : Mike Morongell, Gary Myerberg, Fred Bova

Jon Landau / Barbara Carr : Jon Landau Management
George Travis : tour director
Sandra Choron : package design
Neal Preston : photography